Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Internships and placements

Chemical Engineering Suite

Internships can be a good way to improve your employability skills and find out whether a job is right for you without signing up for a long period of time. They offer work experience and training but unlike graduate schemes do not necessarily end in a formal job offer.

We recommend that you look for paid internships where possible, however some internships are unpaid or only pay expenses, so think carefully when applying for these about whether you can afford to live and whether the experience will be worth it overall.

Placements are usually undertaken during your studies and are usually related to the subject you are studying, and are designed to provide practical industry experience. They can last anywhere from a couple of weeks to a full year as part of a sandwich placement course.

Career and Employability Services runs programmes for both undergraduates and recent graduates to gain valuable work experience:

  • Summer Experience is our programme of six-week paid projects for first and second year undergraduates.
  • The Bradford Graduate Internship programme provides recent graduates with 10-week paid internship projects to improve employability skills, which can often lead on to full-time employment.

Tuesday Internships and placements logo new

We also post links to a selection of current internships and placements on our Facebook and Twitter pages every Tuesday, so follow us to keep up to date.

There are also opportunities advertised on Jobs Online (search by ticking the 'work experience' option).

You can get help with searching and applying for placements and internships by speaking to our team.


Tilly's story - watch the video

Hear Tilly (a University of Bradford student) talk about the support she received from Career and Employability Services throughout her Summer Experience internship:


Where to look

Below there is a list of websites that feature opportunities for work experience, firstly general placement websites featuring a range of sectors and work experience types, followed by opportunities suitable for each faculty.

There is also a contact list for students looking for industrial placement year opportunities, plus information on speculative applications.

Websites for placements and internships

General placement websites:

Engineering and Informatics

Life Sciences

Social Sciences

Management and Law

Finding a 12 month placement

If you are looking for a year's placement as part of your course, you should keep in touch with the placement tutor in your department.

Tutors are likely to have details of opportunities specific to your course and have contacts with organisations that have previously taken students from your department before.

FacultyTutor contact details
Management & Law

Dr Jyoti Mishra

J.L.Mishra@bradford.ac.uk

Engineering & Informatics

Dr Mick Ridley - Placement Tutor (School of EE & Computer Science) M.J.Ridley@bradford.ac.uk

Dr Adrian Kelly - Placement Tutor (School of EngineeringA.L.Kelly@bradford.ac.uk

For general enquiries, contact: ei-placements@bradford.ac.uk

Life Sciences Dr Alex Gibson - Placement Tutor (Archaeology / Environmental Sciences)
a.m.gibson1@bradford.ac.uk

Gillian Jaggar (Biomedical & Healthcare Sciences)
g.jaggar@bradford.ac.uk

Dr William Martin - Placements Tutor (Chemistry)
W.Martin@bradford.ac.uk

Jon Silcock - Placements Tutor (Pharmacy)
j.silcock@bradford.ac.uk
Health Studies

Jane Montague - Work-Based Co-ordinator (Health, Wellbeing & Social Care)
j.montague@bradford.ac.uk

Jackie Haigh – Placement Co-ordinator (Midwifery UG)
j.haigh3@bradford.ac.uk

Julia Pansini-Murrell – supports placements for postgraduate CPD
j.pansini-murrell@bradford.ac.uk

Jeff Bromley – Placement Co-ordinator (Physiotherapy)
j.f.bromley@bradford.ac.uk

Susan Jackson – Placement Co-ordinator (Occupational therapy)
s.jackson13@bradford.ac.uk

Elaine Wilkinson/Ed Cadogan – Placement Co-ordinator (Radiography)
e.chaplin@bradford.ac.uk

Ed Cadogan – Placement Co-ordinator (Radiography)
e.cadogan@bradford.ac.uk

Janice High – Placement Co-ordinator (Nursing)
j.l.high1@bradford.ac.uk

Kim McIntosh – Admin placement Co-ordinator for Nursing
k.e.mcintosh@bradford.ac.uk

Social Sciences

Joanna Spink - Placement Co-ordinator (Applied Criminal Justice)
J.Spink1@bradford.ac.uk

Julie Meek - Placement Administrator (Social Work)
J.K.Meek@bradford.ac.uk

Speculative applications

You should also consider approaching some employers speculatively. Our Jobs Online database includes an employer directory which will show you which organisations might offer placement opportunities, and there are also directories available in the Career and Employability Services Information Room.

You can get help with searching and applying for placements and internships by speaking to our team.

  • Don't forget that you could also consider volunteering as a way to get valuable work experience.